NJCAA powers clash at Mississippi Bowl V

BILOXI—Two teams with rich histories of post-season play will tangle Sunday, Dec. 2 in Biloxi as Garden City Community College (KS) battles Copiah-Lincoln Community College in the Fifth Annual Mississippi Bowl.

“This year’s game features Mississippi’s champion against one of perennial powerhouses from Kansas,” said Ladd Taylor, Mississippi Bowl Committee Chair. “It should be an exciting matchup.”

Co-Lin, ranked No. 7 in the NJCAA, is 9-2 after upsetting NJCAA defending National Champion East Mississippi 47-46 Nov. 3 then following that with a 41-37 upset of Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in the MACJC title game Nov. 10. The Wolfpack’s MACJC title is the college’s first since 1985. Co-Lin’s offense has scored 40 or more points four times this season while the Wolfpack defense has forced 26 turnovers and scored 34 sacks.

Garden City comes to South Mississippi with a 6-4 record and a playoff appearance in the always-tough Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference (KJCCC). The Broncobusters feature quarterback Nick Marshall, the 2012 KJCCC Offensive Player of the Year, and head coach Jeff Tatum, the KJCCC’S Coach of the year. Tatum also has ties to the MACJC having played and coached at Mississippi Delta Community College.

Three fun-filled days of local entertainment, food and football will welcome the teams and their families, friends and special guests.

The Mississippi Bowl is in its fifth year. On December 7, 2008, No. 7 ranked Gulf Coast defeated No. 3 Georgia Military College 41-7 in front of 5,000 fans at Biloxi Indian Stadium. The 2009 contest featured No. 6 East Mississippi defeating No. 5 Arizona Western 27-24 while 2010’s game had No. 7 Gulf Coast outgunned No. 3 Grand Rapids 62-53. Last season the No. 9 Bulldogs hammered No. 5 Blinn 46-17 giving Gulf Coast three Ms. Bowl wins in the four-year history of the event.
All revenues of this association are for the benefit of the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Foundation. The Mississippi Bowl payout for each team will be $10,000, compared to the $7,500 per-team payout from other bowl organizations.

Posted in Uncategorized