EMCC’s Mackey to be inducted into Mississippi Bowl Hall of Fame

PERKINSTON — Former East Mississippi Community College star Randall Mackey will be inducted into the Mississippi Bowl Hall of Fame at ceremonies during the game Sunday, Dec. 4.

The ninth Mississippi Bowl will be played at A.L. May Memorial Stadium in Perkinston. No. 3 East Mississippi will take on No. 13 Kilgore. Kickoff is at 2 p.m. Tickets are available at the Mississippi Bowl website.


East Mississippi’s Randall Mackey led the Lions to victory over Arizona Western in the 2009 Mississippi Bowl.

Mackey led East Mississippi to its first bowl game in 46 years when the Lions defeated No. 6 Arizona Western 27-24 in the 2009 Mississippi Bowl. He completed 26-of-34 passes for 226 yards and three touchdowns, running for a team-high 49 yards on 10 carries.

He was named the Mississippi Bowl Committee MVP award as the state champions’ top player for the 2009 season.

Mackey earned NJCAA All-American honors in both his season in Scooba, making the honorable mention list as a freshman before earning the first-team nod as a sophomore. He led the country with 3,122 yards passing as a sophomore and 2,818 yards and 24 touchdowns as a freshman. He wound up with 56 touchdown passes while running for 1,086 yards and nine touchdowns rushing during his career.

Mackey was a Parade All-American in high school, earning three first-team All-State awards from the Louisiana Football Coaches and Louisiana Sports Writers Association. Bastrop won three straight Class 4A state championships while Mackey was there.

After East Mississippi, Mackey went to Ole Miss where he was named team’s Most Valuable Senior by the Jackson Touchdown Club. He played running back, wide receiver and quarterback in 2012, running for 325 yards and catching passes for 346 yards.

As a junior, he started six games at quarterback, passing for 1,112 yards and seven touchdowns. He ran for 180 yards and another score.

Mackey is now quarterbacks coach at his alma mater, Bastrop High, where he’s been since 2014.

Mackey is the third inductee for the Mississippi Bowl Hall of Fame.

Mississippi Bowl Hall of Fame

2014: Malcolm Tatum, Mississippi Gulf Coast

2015: Greg Jenkins, Mississippi Gulf Coast

2016: Randall Mackey, East Mississippi


Posted in Uncategorized